The Morning After the Hurricane

by drmandlerpost

It’s taken a disaster for us to realize
How utterly pampered have been our Western lives–
With power and heat gone, food running very low
The warm room now in ashes from the tremendous blow–

Huge flames moving slowly, savoring every bite
Out of bones made of iron, copper wire veins through the night
In power stations.

Yesterday’s eager tourists, snapping pictures of Sandy’s dragon breath,
Today sit in darkness, fighting thoughts of death–
As sirens scream out loudly, the sun still hides behind
The dark blue veil of clouds, focusing my mind

On what is important: my family’s still here!
My daughter’s laughter tickles, my little son is near;
My wife–who gently sleeps now after staying up all night–
The cliche rings so true now: out of darkness, come sweet light!