On Yom Kippur: Forgive me! Forgive me!

by Dr. David Mandler

Forgive me, forgive me! I hope I’m not too late
To ask for forgiveness. I never meant to hate
A single millisecond of life you gave to me.
I thank you profusely for all you’ve let me see.

My kids and my brother, my father, mother, wife
My nephews, aunts and nieces you put into my life;
The workplace with students, the trees, the dark gray skies
The train in the mornings, the drawn-out long goodbyes.

Forgive me, forgive me! I hope I’m not too late
To ask for forgiveness. I cannot really hate
A single millisecond of life you gave to me.
Forgive me my blindness. From now I’ll try to see.

My friends if I hurt you, I now apologize
My sins scream out louder than my little children’s cries.
Forgive me, forgive me! Let me wash the floor with tears
My sins be forgiven! May we see more blessed years.